Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Guilt by Degrees

Guilt by Degrees

Harrowing, smart, and riotously entertaining, Guilt by Degrees is a thrilling ride through the world of LA courts with the unforgettable Rachel Knight.

Someone has been watching D.A. Rachel Knight — someone who’s Rachel’s equal in brains, but with more malicious intentions. It began when a near-impossible case fell into Rachel’s lap, the suspectless homicide of a homeless man. In the face of courthouse backbiting and a gauzy web of clues, Rachel is determined to deliver justice. She’s got back-up: tough-as-nails Detective Bailey Keller.

As Rachel and Bailey stir things up, they’re shocked to uncover a connection with the vicious murder of an LAPD cop a year earlier. Something tells Rachel someone knows the truth, someone who’d kill to keep it secret.
Read More

Genre: Mystery & Thriller / Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense

On Sale: August 30th 2016

Price: $15.99 / $19.49 (CAD)

Page Count: 464

ISBN-13: 9780316199766

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

Praise for Guilt by Degrees

"It's no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom, and a murder mystery - but she's also a terrific writer and storyteller."—James Patterson
"Marcia Clark knows her villains, and GUILT BY DEGREES gives us one you won't forget. She also gives us one of the toughest and most appealing heroes to come along in a very long time. Prosecutor Rachel Knight is smart, funny, and just about fearless in her pursuit of justice and a good martini. GUILT BY DEGREES kept me guessing to the last page - and then impatient to read more about Rachel Knight."
Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of High Crimes and Vanished
"Clark humanizes her tough lead, and gets the mixture of action and investigative legwork just right, more than making the case for a long life for this West Coast analogue to Linda Fairstein's Alex Cooper."
Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)
"This sequel to her remarkably accomplished debut, Guilt by Association (2010), proves that former prosecutor Clark is no one-book wonder...Clark has a winning cast of characters, a strong plot, and plenty of smart and sassy dialogue (particularly when Knight and her BFFs gather for after-work martinis), and she heightens interest in Knight's next appearance by establishing the psychopathic Bayer as her nemesis. A superlative series bringing together elements of both legal thrillers and police procedurals."—Michele Leber, Booklist
"Clark brings back Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight in this sequel to her well-received debut, Guilt by Association...Well-developed characters and a story arc that leaves the reader hanging are a surefire way to bring fans back for the next installment, and Clark has wisely left that door wide open. [This] should appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and David Baldacci."—Stacy Alesi, Library Journal
Read More Read Less